Camera Gear, Garage Sale Finds, Photography

Rite of Passage-What the VW bug and Pentax had in Common.

pentax
Back in the 60’s and 70’s it was quite common for a young mans first car to be a VW bug. They were plentiful and cheap and often seen at many high school parking lots. The bug was a rite of passage for a 16 year old boy to drive. I always wanted one, had many friends that did. However my first car was a 1962 Ford Falcon that I bought for 75 bucks from a good friend. Looked like crap, but hey, it was transportation. The other right of passage to any aspiring photographer was their first camera. In school, the instructor made everyone get the Pentax K1000 because it was the best camera to learn photography. Everything was manual. I never had one of these either. Certainly having my Canon AE-1 Program which was fully automatic (except focusing) you didn’t need to learn about the relationship between shutter speed, aperture and ISO. I kinda missed all that whilst setting my camera to P for Program, almost all of the time. Never did use manual. Today with my Canon EOS 60D, I almost always shoot in manual mode, unless I am somewhere and the situation calls for speedy transitions. However, back to Pentax. So I missed out on learning photography the right way and a few years ago I bought one off of Craigslist for $25. Can I tell you I absolutely love this camera? There is a certain feeling you get when you are controlling the process, turning the aperture ring on the lens, setting the shutter speed and watching where the match needle hits thru the viewfinder. It took me awhile, but I finally had my rite of passage with this camera. How about you, did you have one?

2 thoughts on “Rite of Passage-What the VW bug and Pentax had in Common.”

  1. I also bought a Pentax SLR recently and I definitely agree. It’s easy to mess it up but it’s certainly fun, a good counterpoint to all the digital photography I do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

